Reviews

Yelp-logo

Recent Yelp Reviews

  • 12/7/2015

    Tireece Y.
    Ohaeawai,
    New Zealand

     

     

    Highly recommend booking through lucky owl car rentals, they are awesome! Very smooth, quick and easy to deal with. They made our holiday in Hawaii much more relaxed. They were also the cheapest hassle free rental company on the island. Thanks so much guys!!! We will definitely give you guys a call next time we are on the island. Mahalo Nui loa and Kia Ora from us Maori New Zealanders

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/31/2015

    Olivia M.
    Wailuku,
    HI

     

     

    I would give this company more stars if I could! Great experience! No hassle and a huge money saver! They were great to work with! Very accommodating.
    I will use Lucky Owl every time I travel to Oahu

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/27/2015

    Chris J.
    San Luis Obispo,
    CA

     

     

    We got a nice car, at a great price, and excellent service with Lucky Owl.
    I have to say, cruising around in an inconspicuous-looking vehicle for a week is really nice. Your typical rental looks so obvious – all stickered-up. Lucky Owl gave us a 2000 Accord in faded gold, and we felt every bit the locals. Sure, it had some little scrapes here and there, but it only added to it authenticity, and as far as functionality and reliability – we couldn’t fault it.
    Twice we had a flat tire, and both times the Lucky Owl service really shone. We only dealt with one employee the whole time (didn’t catch his name, but he’s from Brooklyn) who gave us excellent service with our flats, and airport pick-up and drop-off was smooth and quick. The roadside assistance, flat tire repair, even an additional driver was all included in the base price.
    We’ll most definitely be using Lucky Owl the next time were on O’ahu.

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/19/2015

    Ninja Q.
    Phoenix,
    AZ

     

     

    Just like what the other reviewers said. They were awesome and great! I didn’t have a problem with the cars being older. A car is a car. I’m not going to Hawaii just to look rich. I want to explore! It got us from point a to point b just fine. It made some noises while turning, but nothing serious. We were in Hawaii for 4 days and used only 1 tank of gas. You can’t beat the price for 4 days for $100 even. One tank of gas was less than $40.
    No underage fee or hidden fees. Everything you need to know is on the contract. Just read and take care of the car! I didn’t have to pay the cleaning fee because I cleaned the car out prior to giving it back. Overall, I definitely recommend this for those who are on a budget!

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/9/2015

    Brian C.
    Elk Rapids,
    MI

     

     

    All the positive reviews of this car rental service proved to be absolutely true….we recently rented a car for 17 days at an incredible price. They picked us up right away at the airport as advertised and could not have been any nicer. Same with the return. We were there for my sons wedding and my daughter also rented from Lucky Owl and had a great experience.

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/7/2015

    Alma S.
    La Crescenta-Montrose,
    CA

     

     

    Got to agree with all the other Yelpers, this little company is great. Got to the airport only waited a few minutes for the driver to pick us up he picked us up in the car that we were taking which was great that we had all our luggage already in the car, signed a few papers and was on our way in 5 minutes to enjoy our vacation.

    Free airport pick up and drop off (both curb side)! 2004 Toyota Corolla car was reliable, economic, got us everywhere we needed to go with no problems, hassle free.

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/3/2015

    Debbie L.
    Grand Prairie,
    TX

     

     

    Can’t say enough about this little-big company! When you want to save money,(who doesn’t) and get awesome customer care-Lucky Owl is that place! They brought the car to our place of stay. The process was super easy, didn’t have to wait in line anywhere. Return was just as easy! Max and associates drove us back to the airport with a smile!
    Thank you again, and until next time…

    Read More ►

     

  • 9/2/2015

    Kathryn P.
    Scottsdale,
    AZ

     

     

    Great customer service! We rented a car for a month and it was $800 cheaper than all of the other rental places. They pick you up at the airport and take you back when you leave. The cars are older but all you need is a way to get around and if something breaks (like it did with us- the door handle) they come out to you right away and fix it! Couldn’t have asked for nicer people. Wish they had a place everywhere we travel. I definitely recommend them!

    Read More ►

     

  • 8/7/2015

    Lisa J.
    South San Francisco,
    CA

     

     

    thanks to yelp, I went with renting a car from here. I ended up with a simple dependable car that was good on gas too (toyota corolla). I liked that when you ask for a quote, the price they give you is it, no hidden fees. the whole rental experience with them was nice and easy. all the employees I interacted with were friendly and sincere. I plan to rent from them again next time I go to O’ahu.

    Read More ►

     

  • 8/2/2015

    Tatum R.
    San Marcos,
    CA

     

     

    This place absolutely rocked! Found this gem via yelp. My boyfriend and I are 19 yrs old and we were in search for a place that wouldn’t charge us a ridiculous amount for being under age. They charge nothing for underage drivers! We had an initial issue of insurance but we were able to use our credit card as proof of insurance. The best part was Max being able to honor our previous quote of $200 he had offered when we first called at the beginning of the month, when we thought we weren’t able to reserve due to the insurance issue. A week before when we figured everything out, he still honored that quote. Great customer service! All of the employees here were accommodating and helpful. Our car ran in perfect condition and we were grateful to have an older car that made us look like locals. This place is stress free and so easy. You won’t regret renting from here! Thank you so much to Max, Camila, and Dee!

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/22/2015

    Arlene F.
    San Francisco,
    CA

     

     

    Great car rental company. D was the man who picked up my family and I from the Airport. Basically you call them after you pick up your luggage from baggage claim and D picked us up very fast. No long line to pick up our rental car the actual car was the one he picked us up in. Tank was full and just signed paperwork, looked over the dings and my family and I were ready to go!
    Also D was able to just pick up our rental from our hotel. A++. So I did not even need to drive it back and get dropped off since I will be in Waikiki for a few more days.

    Great company! Great Service. I will use them again.

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/20/2015

    Nick B.
    Anaheim,
    CA

     

     

    Best car rental on Oahu, PERIOD. They pick you up in the car you are renting, and in my case they dropped the car off at my location in Waikiki beach, car rental for a midsize was reasonable for a week for me a 19 year old, then when you drop it off they will drive you back to where you are staying or to the airport. They are a small company with an inventory of 60+ cars and just 5 employees. This is definitely a rental car company that means business and wants to help the customers get a good rental at a good price. I would 100% recommend doing business with them.

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/12/2015

    Anna B.
    Boston,
    MA

     

     

    I’ve been to Honolulu before and for this trip wasn’t going to be suckered into the “big box” companies for my rental as I prefer to shop local. I arranged for my reservation in advance via email and they required proof of insurance along with my refundable deposit and rental fee on pickup day. I wasn’t even forced to use a credit card. We wound up with a pretty cool little Toyota with about 112k in miles on it. Loved it. The car was functional, ran well and ac blasted plus it only used about $45 in gas the whole time we were there. Max and staff were great and very easy to deal with. They dropped the car off to me and we handled all the paperwork in my lobby. They were able to dispatch 2 drivers so I didn’t even have to go back to the shop. When the week was up we returned the car, my deposit was refunded and we got a ride to the airport. In short I’d never rent from anyone else ever again and plan to visit the islands more frequently. If you’re not looking for a pretentious ride and simply want to get around without sticking out like a tourist I urge you to rent from these guys. Good hard working locals who run an incredibly honest business. Mahalo Max!

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/9/2015

    Pete N.
    San Jose,
    CA

     

     

    Like all the other reviews say, these guys provide great customer service. Very prompt in returning emails. Price is hard to beat and there really are no hidden fees. They had extra time so actually offered to drop off and pick up our rental straight from the hotel. We didn’t have to leave, which was such a nice convenience. Van we rented was older, but in good working condition with functioning A/C and radio. Thanks again for the service, one less thing we had to stress about on our trip. Definitely will use again!!!!

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/8/2015

    Gordon M.
    Buena Park,
    CA

     

     

    I was very skeptical in using Lucky Owl. But was I ever surprised, we rented a Toyota Corolla for 8 days. Total cost for the eight days was 140.00. The car had some scratches on the outside, but the interior was fantastic. I like the fact that the car blends in as a local looking car, and not a rental. If your looking for great service, and a good car, try Lucky Owl, I will use them every time when on Oahu. Thanks again for taking us to the airport.

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/8/2015

    Cassandra P.
    San Francisco,
    CA

     

     

    The best rental company on Oahu. They pick you up from the airport and take you to the garage in Mapunapuna, where many people have claimed to be sketchy but really isn’t. Although you don’t get to choose what car you want you are guaranteed to get a “non rental car”. Even my family that lives on the island couldn’t believe I had a rental. It was an older generation Toyota Corolla, small and nondescript, exactly what my boyfriend and I wanted. All at an amazing price too! Book with these guys, they are friendly, efficient, and budget friendly!! I will definitely be using them next time I visit.

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/4/2015

    HY V.
    Dixon,
    CA

     

     

    Great car at a great price . Service was amazing and everything ran so smoothly. Really appreciated the ride from and back to the airport. We will definitely be using Lucky Owl again !

    Read More ►

     

  • 4/22/2015

    Robin D.
    Tigard,
    OR

     

     

    Wow! If you’re visiting Oahu and want a reasonable car rental contract Lucky Owl.
    Max and his crew are great. All of my inquiries to Max were answered within an hour. Pick up and drop off at the airport were timely and personal.
    Older model cars in good condition met our transportation needs perfectly for the 5 weeks we spent in Waikiki.
    I will definitely contact Lucky Owl Car rental again.
    Thanks Max

    Read More ►

     

  • 4/17/2015

    Scott N.
    Campbell,
    CA

     

     

    Max and his team were a pleasure to work with. We needed a car for only a few days so we used yelp to find his business. The car they had for us met both our needs and expectations and their close proximity to the airport made it easy to drop us off for our flight within no time. Would definitely book through Lucky Owl again!

    Read More ►

     

  • 4/8/2015

    Keith M.
    Seattle,
    WA

     

     

    First time in Oahu, and finding these guys was one of the highlights of my trip :)

    Their price is really affordable, but it’s their hospitality and service that really is impressive. From the time of the booking to the end of our rental there wasn’t any hassle at all. Max and all the crew is very personable, they make the whole process very easy and comfortable.

    Everything is really straight forward, id, proof of insurance, deposit, and the payment. Those are the things you need to rent. We got a Honda Element which was more than we expected. Returning process was really easy and flexible as well. We returned our rental late because we underestimated honolulu traffic, we called Max and he assured us that it was ok. I can’t ask for more.

    Read More ►

     

  • 4/6/2015

    Stephanie P.
    Bellflower,
    CA

     

     

    Great service, I recently rented a car from Lucky Owl and I am. So glad I did! My friend and I just got back from our 7 day trip to Hawaii and we had a great time. I am so glad I was able to find these guys because they are legit. They picked us up from the airport and took us to their rental place the process is super fast and smooth, no hidden fees or under 25 fees. We got out deposit back when we dropped off the car and Dee the same guy that picked us up took us back to the airport. Everything went pretty smooth, will be renting from them again next time I visit Oahu.

    Read More ►

     

  • 3/25/2015

    Mrs. B.
    Lexington Park,
    MD

     

     

    This place is legit and was an excellent experience for us! We were moving off-island and needed a rental since we sold our cars ahead of time. We got a 2004 Nissan Sentra for almost a month for a great price! The transaction was so easy and quick, and we got our $200 deposit back within a little over a week after we returned it. I would definitely recommend this place!

    Read More ►

     

  • 3/21/2015

    Paul G.
    Aliamanu – Salt Lakes – Foster Village,
    HI

     

     

    This place is legit. I was a little worried at first since they are not a major corporation, but they did a very outstanding job. They pick you up from the airport, take you to their location and look over your rental to check for dings & scratches as all rental places do. Total time from airport pick up to us in their rental car driving off was approximately 20 minutes. Very well ran business, very professional employees and owner. When I return to the island this is where I will be renting my wheels from no doubt. Email them and they will take great care of you. Thanks lucky owl!

    Read More ►

     

  • 3/17/2015

    Denyse D.
    New York,
    NY

     

     

    I am ever so grateful I found Lucky Owl! This was the first time my partner and I have rented a car overseas and Max made our experience very easy and comfortable, his communication was A+!

    What basically happens is they’ll pick you up from the airport, take you to their stall and deal with the paperwork. You then pay, and we got to drive away with the car they picked us up from. The same thing happens when you return it, thank you very much to Dee who came to drop us off at 4:30am due to our early flight!

    The prices were affordable (especially because we’re under 25), and even though the car was used and had a few scuffs it ran just fine. There are no hidden fees, just a $200 deposit that you get back as soon as you return the car.

    I highly recommend Lucky Owl to anyone and everyone and will definitely use them again when I go back to Oahu!

    Read More ►

     

  • 3/17/2015

    Cynthia F.
    Kaneohe,
    HI

     

     

    Awesome service and a great clean car! Max found me a vehicle very last minute. Dee brought my ride to my workplace, and drove me home (to the Windward side!) After dropping my daughter at the airport. Great guys, all of them..They were recommended by a coworker and I’m passing along the good word.

    Read More ►

     

  • 3/6/2015

    Trina T.
    San Francisco Bay Area,
    CA

     

     

    So glad I found lucky owl, couldn’t be happier with our experience. Forget about the big name chain companies and their ridiculous prices. We got a clean reliable car at a very decent price. Scheduled a drop off/pick up and lucky owl showed up right on time . Everything was clearly stated with no hidden fees.

    We were able to explore a good amount of the island, so thanks lucky owl for helping make our trip that much better.

    Read More ►

     

  • 3/1/2015

    E. R.
    Mountain View,
    CA

     

     

    Lucky Owl Car Rental is definitely a good place for renting a car so you can explore every possible corner of O’ahu. Max who is the owner has 48 cars and he was in contact with my girlfriend. He came to the airport to pick us up. He was nice and polite. After driving back to his business, he had me sign some paperwork and told me I could drive the car he used to pick us up at the airport which was a light grey Nissan Sentra (1.8L engine). The car was fairly clean but not sparking. We booked the car for a week for $200 including taxes which is definitely a good deal. We drove it just about anywhere around O’ahu from south to west, east and center (we missed 3 places in the north only). The car itself did not have any issue but it sounded as if it needed some work. While driving it, but specifically during braking, I heard a weird sound that reminded me of something hitting something else in the back. The rear left door was not light grey so it did not match the rest of the car. It was a little darker which is not a big deal but certainly did not look pleasing to the eye. The windows had a film that made them darker. The film was peeling off in several places. Also, the windows from the outside had some black paint that was breaking away. All in all the car worked well for us. It was not a luxury car and I did not expect one but it was a little below my expectations. Still, for the deal and the two free rides to the airport, I can consider myself satisfied. I tipped Max and his coworker. They didn’t want tip but I felt they deserved it so I made sure they took it. I give Max, his coworkers and the business 4 stars. I recommend this place to anyone but be frugal, practical and don’t expect luxury. Bring your insurance policy coverage and you will be fine.

    Read More ►

     

  • 2/9/2015

    Arjun P.
    Riverside,
    CA

     

     

    Literally the best car rental place I have ever used!

    Cheap price, convenience, and shuttle to and from the airport! No hassle at all! Everyone was very courteous!

    I’ve had plenty of horrible run ins with car rental places, but Max was awesome to us!
    No underage fee, no extra driver fee, just fill up the tank and drive! Cars are from Mid 2000s but still in good condition!

    You just show your insurance, they take a safety deposit and that’s it!

    Everyone should use this, so much better than large name car rental places like budget, thrifty, etc

    Read More ►

     

  • 2/4/2015

    Mayra G.
    San Diego,
    CA

     

     

    At first I wasn’t too sure what to expect but this car rental was great! We were picked up & dropped off free of charge at HNL airport. We paid no more than like $100-$130 for 5 days. The CRV we got was awesome; drove all around the whole island on less than half a tank!! If you don’t mind having an older model car & want something very very affordable this is the place for you!!

    Read More ►

     

  • 1/18/2015

    Hanna T.
    Las Vegas,
    NV

    yelpstars

     

     

    We were picked up from the airport with the car that we rented and brought to their office to complete paperwork. Same procedure upon our return of the car. We rented during the Xmas and New Year’s holiday when all the other car rental companies were charging an arm and a leg plus your first born! However, Lucky Owl charged half of what the other companies were charging. Max quoted us a flat price and that’s what we paid, no extra fees, taxes, or what have you. The $200 deposit was credited back on my credit card upon completion of the rental. Their cars are older but were in good condition. The car we had suited our needs. Will be returning to Hawaii again in May and have already contacted Max again to reserve a car for us when we return. Great customer service Max!

    Read More ►

     

  • 1/15/2015

    Lauren C.
    Venice,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    They were able to get us a minivan super last minute. Great customer service. The car was nice and perfect for the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Will definitely use them again

    Read More ►

     

  • 1/11/2015

    Elmer T.
    Alameda,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    My overall experience renting with Lucky Owl car rental is positive. The Van I reserved was not available due to a door malfunction. But they provided me with alternate transportation that worked for me and my family. They are very nice to do business with. I will definitely rent from them again. Thanks Max and D.

    Read More ►

     

  • 1/4/2015

    Felicia L.
    Long Beach,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    I was really happy with our experience with Lucky Owl. This was my first time ever renting out a car, and I was happy to how quick, easy and simple it was to work with them.

    I asked for a quote using their website, and I was able to reserve a car right away. We got a 2005-2006 (?) Toyota Corolla, which was in good condition with a few scratches here and there but nothing terrible. The car was clean as well. To get the car, we were picked up at the airport, we did all the paperwork at the location (which seemed kind of weird at first, because it is at a random lot; there isn’t a real location for this business but rather a kiosk). We provided proof of our insurance, and weren’t charged any under 25 year old driver fees! Pretty cool. At the end of our stay, we dropped off the car at the location, we finished all paper work, and the same guy who picked us here drove us back to the airport. It was cool because the guy knew all the shortcuts, haha.

    One of the main reasons I went ahead with Lucky Owl was the cheap prices. Yes, they use older cars, but we weren’t here on holiday for the driving experience… we just needed a car to get around town, haha. To use the car for 4 days only cost us $60, and the deposit was $200 which was returned right away. The car was also good on gas, which we were able to fill up for a good price prior to returning the car.

    Another reason we rented the car with Lucky Owl (which may surprise you) is the fact they rent out older cars. Before coming to Hawaii, I did my research and read many stories that locals tend to jack people’s cars for money and other items, especially tourists! This also happened to my co-worker, who had her malasadas stolen! haha. The red flag for locals is having a super new and nice car… in which they steal any purchases, luggage, cash, et cetera. In addition to my co-worker and also the stories I read on Trip Advisor, but also our driver from Lucky Owl confirmed it to be a recurring issue. Even more scary… we LITERALLY saw a nice car parked right next to us get jacked at a Foodland store. It was so sketch, there was even a lookout. Luckily our car wasn’t touched and we didn’t have anything in the car! I couldn’t believe this actually happened.

    Other than that, I had a very good experience with Lucky Owl Car Rentals overall. The great price, the well working car and the super friendly service were all excellent. I would definitely recommend this car rental place to all my friends, and use it again when I come back. Thanks again Lucky Owl, especially Max and D!

    Read More ►

     

  • 12/27/2014

    Brian S.
    San Francisco,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    These guys were great. They were super responsive to emails from the get go. They picked us up from the airport when we arrived and dropped us off at the airport in our car as soon as we returned it. No waiting for a shuttle, no lines for renting/returning the car. Easily the smoothest and friendliest service I’ve had renting a car. They were also cheaper than anything else I found online. This is your great deal, great service, hole in the wall spot for renting cars in Honolulu.

    Read More ►

     

  • 12/24/2014

    Matt T.
    San Diego,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    Wow!!!! This place is the place to rent a car. Hassle free,quick, and cheap. Employees are super cool. Its the easiest car rental place i have ever dealt with. Lucky owl made our trip to oahu a true pleasure. Dont use the other companies,use Lucky Owl!!!!

    Read More ►

     

  • 12/2/2014

    Lele L.
    San Francisco,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    Can’t believe I got my whole family out to Hawaii for Thanksgiving. And lucky owl made it so easy for all of us to get from place to place together.

    All the other places wanted at least double the price for a minivan rental. So the car wasn’t perfect (85k miles, door was hard to open, etc) but totally worked for our huge group. They even picked us up from the airport, stayed open late so I could drop off the car in the evening, dropped me back off in Waikiki, and refused a tip.

    Their customer service is amazing (have you ever heard of a car rental company recommending that you don’t pay extra for the insurance?) & I’d definitely rent from them again.

    Love their vision of affordable car rentals with slightly older cars!

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/27/2014

    vinh n.
    Stockton,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    Lucky Owl is one of the finest rental car company I’ve ever had the pleasure of doing business with.

    If you are in the Oahu area and require a rental car and do not care about older model vehicles, then this is the place to go. They generally have older model vehicles such as 2008-2011 Toyotas. We placed a reservation for a sedan and was given a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The condition of the vehicle was just okay form the outside (normal wear and tear, scratches, some dings, nothing terribly off putting), but the condition inside was great. The upholster, floors, dashboard were clean and the car did not have any bad smells or anything like that.

    The vehicle we rented was in perfect driving condition, we rented it for 6 nights and 7 days, which came out to be under $100. This included pick up and drop off to the airport as well. The level of customer service was great, we were picked up and dropped off promptly, there was no hassle, zero wait time. The driver even refused tip, despite them giving fabulous customer service.

    We had zero hassles with the deposit, the $200 deposit was released promptly. There were also no further hidden fees, they even waived the $20 cleaning fee even though we had a bunch of sand and what not all over the floor, mats, etc (pretty hard to prevent it from getting sandy when you visit beaches nonstop). The drivers were very helpful as well, great to chat with, told us of places to visit, very receptive to questions and overall just great guys.

    I can’t recommend them enough, generally you get what you pay for, but with Lucky Owl, you get a lot more.

    PROS:
    Friendly company
    Vehicle in good condition
    No hidden fees
    Very reasonably priced

    CONS:
    Older vehicles only
    Provide your own insurance (maybe also a pro?)

    I will definitely recommend Lucky Owl to anyone traveling around in the Oahu area!

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/21/2014

    Whale B.
    Folsom,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    Perfect. Flew out from Sacramento, NorCal, picked us up from the Honolulu airport, got us into a low mileage car that was really good to us, then took us back to the airport after dropping off the car. We had the car a week and saw a lot of the island! When we return to O’ahu we will call Lucky Owl because they are on it and da kine for sure! Mahalo guys, you da best. !

    Read More ►

     

  • 10/6/2014

    Jazz M.
    Aiea,
    HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    Our car broke down and we didn’t want to keep renting with all the higher priced car rental in the area. A close friend recommended Lucky Owl Car Rental out in Mapunapuna. It was a little hard to find at first but after dealing with Max over the phone I can’t say enough how grateful to have heard about this place.

    Service was outstanding and the cost was beyond reasonable!!! We’ll never rent anywhere else.

    Mahalo Nui,
    The Vitale & Manu Ohana

    Read More ►

     

  • 9/24/2014

    Diana D.
    Honolulu,
    HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    If you are in Oahu and need a rental car- this IS the place to go! I live in Honolulu and needed a rental car for when my parents came to visit. I was recommenced this place from a friend and am so happy with their service.

    Like other reviewers have mentioned, everything from the booking, to the pick up and return are super easy. I actually rented 2 cars over a 2 weeks period due to the size of the party changing, and both cars worked great. I really appreciated that the cars looked like normal cars, meaning they didn’t call out the unwanted attention of being a rental.

    I am already recommending Lucky Owl to my friends that are coming to visit, and I recommend them to you as well! :)

    Read More ►

     

  • 9/13/2014

    suzie w.
    San Francisco,
    CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    We had a family emergency and my sisters and I were taking turns coming back to Honolulu over 3 months to help take care of our Dad. Max was really great and made things really easy for us. They gave us a very reasonable monthly rental rate and when we alternated who was in town, and had to change registered drivers, the staff met us at the house to make it easier. We didn’t know how long we needed the car, and they were very flexible about the return date. The car had good fuel economy and worked well for us. When few problem came up with the car door, they offered to come to the house to fix it. I highly recommend Lucky Owl.

    Read More ►

     

  • 9/8/2014

    Joe Z.
    Honolulu,
    HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    Exceptional customer service. Lucky Owl adds that personal touch that big rental companies don’t have. You aren’t just a number, Their staff is warm, friendly, and has that aloha sprit. The rental was better than I expected, great rates too. I would highly recommend using them to all my friends.

    Read More ►

     

  • 8/27/2014

    A P.
    Honolulu,
    HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    All around the most hassle free, car rental experience ever, and I have rented cars all over the globe! There was a slight problem with the first car and Max corrected it right away. The cars ran well, were clean and I had no worries. Yes, the cars are older, but safe and well maintained. I actually felt safer in them because I don’t stand out as a tourist, which I am not. I visit relatives here frequently. I will use Lucky Owl again for sure. Thanks to Max for everything.

    Read More ►

     

  • 8/20/2014

    Thi C.
    Honolulu,
    HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    FRIENDLY!
    EFFICIENT!
    AFFORDABLE!
    RELIABLE!
    Everything I look for in a car rental. Will definitely rent from them again in December.
    The best part: They brought the car to us on the beach :).

    Read More ►

     

  • 8/18/2014

    Steve W.
    Honolulu,
    HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    Exceptional, unparalleled car rental services!

    1. Rental extension via email was a breeze, and it was at my original rate.

    2. When I had a problem with my rental, a replacement car was delivered to my doorstep the very next morning (at 7:00AM). Wow!

    3. Return hour was very flexible without incurring any additional cost, i.e., the car was picked up at 12:00PM but returned at 6:00PM.

    4. Fast reply time, be it by email or by phone.

    Mahalo nui loa, Max, for being just all-around AWESOME!!

    And… please help support this young, local business.

    Read More ►

     

  • 8/18/14
    Margaret P.
    Chicago, IL

    yelpstars

     

     

    This was the best rental car experience I have had. I spent a lot of time researching prices prior to renting a car. Compared to the big names, this was by far the cheapest option. Although you may find some other cheap places on the island, they are often unreliable — with last minute changes in plans, hidden fees or non-existent available cars. I was prepared for a similar experience and was delighted to find that Lucky Owl is in fact just a great deal! Although having to pay an additional $200 deposit (as agreed upon when reserving the car), I was completely reimbursed once the car was returned.

    It was incredible easy to rent a car. Max has the system down to a science. Reserving a car is easy through email..so easy that I was half suspecting I skipped a step. BUT when I landed, Max called to say he and the car were at the airport. It was all so smooth.

    The car was in great shape despite being a few years old. I’ve been told by a number of locals that an older, less flashy car is good to drive because it is less of a target for burglars (car theft is very common especially when outside of Honolulu). The Corolla was the perfect blend of comfortable and inconspicuous.

    Max took a lot of extra time and attention to make sure our trip was successful. He was happy and willing to drive my friend and I to Waikiki in horrible traffic, which saved us tons of money and time. He also sent me a list of good hikes to take – all great recommendations!

    Seriously, use Lucky Owl.

    Read More ►

     

  • 7/28/14
    Elise W.
    Huntsville, AL

    yelpstars

     

     

    After reading the other yelp reviews I was happy to rent with Lucky Owl.  Max was quick to email me back and answer any questions that I had.  My husband and I were meeting in Honolulu after his business trip to Japan and his flight was delayed but there were no issues in our pick up from the airport after calling. We had a clean Toyota Matrix for $25 a day plus some taxes that Hawaii makes you pay and when compared to the $60+ per day fees that the major rental companies charge this was a bargain!!  I highly recommend renting from Lucky Owl and saving some money.

    Read More ►

     

  • 7/25/14
    Paul B.
    San Francisco Bay Area

    yelpstars

     

     
    Worked great for us – max and the other guy are nice guys and the van we had was clean and ran great. I would use then again! Worked great for my family and ac was great and van worked well. We had a sienna.

    Read More ►

     

  • 7/16/14

    Adrean H.
    Benicia, CA

    yelpstars

     

     

    Dee and Max are absolutely great! I could go on and on about the wonderful pricing, the over the top (and so appreciated) customer service and the ease of which my trip was to Honolulu was because of these guys. CLASS ACT! I will be using Lucky owl on all my future trips to Oahu. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/29/14

    Waltah R.
    Auburn, WA

    yelpstars

     

     

    Enterprise screwed me over last minute and these guys hooked me up big time during the holiday rush Xmas of 2013. Cool local guys that keep it real. I’m glad they stepped up and took care of me. Had a rental car for a little over a month on a weekly contract and gave me a good deal. What more could you ask for?

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/25/14

    J Y.
    Honolulu, HI

    yelpstars

     

     

    Great personal service, easy transaction and no stress. Quick to pick us up. We made changes to our reservation a few times and all was seamless. See Lucky Owl first!

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/13/14

    yelpface7Lisa R.
    Pflugerville, TX

    yelpstars

     

     

    After having an absolutely horrific experience with another company, we came across lucky owl car rental. We gave Max a call and he quickly arranged us a rental for our time on the island, picked us up at the airport and made us feel completely comfortable. The rate was extremely affordable and the service was second to none. When it was time to turn in the rental, he actually thanked us for vacuuming out the sand and filling up the tank (what a nice guy!), quickly refunded our deposit and gave us a ride to the airport. We could not have been happier with our experience and will definitely be using them for future trips.

    Read More ►

     

  • 6/11/2014

    yelpface6

    yelpstars

     

     

    Can’t say enough great things about our experience renting a car for our trip out to the north shore. Max and Dee are wonderful – met us at our hotel to drop off the car which was beyond convenient since Waikiki is crazy busy (you should’ve seen the lines at the major car rental places – sigh)…. and then they dropped us off after we returned the rental.  Will be the only service we use every time we are on the island. Also like the fact that their cars aren’t showy and have the look of a local car which is a big deal for me since 2 of my friends have gotten their rental cars broken into while on vacation and we were hoping to avoid this. Thanks to Max and Dee!!!

    Read More ►

     

  • 5/14/14

    yelpface5

    yelpstars

     

     

    Lucky to find this gem!  Communication is excellent. Service is excellent. The family van we rented was excellent; in great condition, super clean, and everything worked.  You can not beat the price (use your own insurance).  We wanted to rent a booster seat for our youngest, and they went above and beyond to get us a new booster seat and didn’t even charge us to use it.  Picked us all up at the airport and took us back as well. Max is doing everything right and I wish Lucky Owl all the best!

    Read More ►

  • 5/9/2014

    yelpface4

    yelpstars

     

     

    The staff is very friendly and helpful they came through for me every time I need a vehicle. Everytime I visit Hawaii I will make sure I rent a car from here. The cars are not the fanciest, but they are reliable and all the AC work. If you call them and give them heads up, they were even drop you off at the airport and pick you up from the airport or any destination on the island as long as you give them times notice. Great business I will always recommend it.

    Read More ►

     

  • 4/28/2014

    yelpface3

    yelpstars

     

     

    I feel kind of funny giving a car rental place a 5 star, and I thought it was too good to be true when I called them and they said they’d come drop off the car at my hotel and drive me back to the airport when I returned the car and the flat rate of $137 for 8 days (?) and had no hidden fees…But they came through with a smile on their face and a nice newer Toyota Corolla. I’ve tried a couple of the name brand rentals at the Honolulu airport and it has always been a major headache and ended up in a debate over hidden fees or one thing or another, and usually a long wait in line to get your car and a long wait in line to catch a shuttle. None of that at Lucky Owl. I made a same day phone call and there was my car in less than an hour at my doorstep. And when I returned the car I was getting a drive to the airport after the 2 minute check-in.

    Read More ►

  • 3/19/14

    yelp rental car review

    yelpstars    

     

    Can’t say enough good things about them. They are just AWESOME!!! Good communicator, easy transaction, they do exactly what they said. The car was clean, problem free and we drove around for a week with $50 gas. They even made us feel special, we told them we want a car that can carry surfboards. They showed up with a 2002 Toyota Corolla with surf racks. Totally awesome :) Dee came and pick us up at the airport and took us to the parking lot to sign paper. He was very friendly, easy going and helpful. We even returned the car in the evening and they had no problem with it. Wish there are more business like this. Will use them again for sure. BANG FOR THE BUCK!

    Read More ►

  • 2/28/2014

    Mark D.

      

    Trying to stay in the company budget for travel is very tough…especially when making a statement to the new owners that can be wary of ‘work’ in Hawaii. Enter Lucky Own Car Rental. We thought ‘too good to be true’ but let me tell you that this is LEGITIMATE and professional. Prices were just mind-blowing. Always attentive and maintaining a professionalism for your schedule…. I’m quite blown away actually how the Lucky Owl crew were able to keep our schedules down to the tee.

    Rented a van since we needed to haul around a ton of goods and yes they are not new Vans but blend in nicely with the ‘local’ vibe….making them dare I even say ‘invisible’ to prying and curious eyes.

    The crew will pick you up from your gate and complete the paperwork at a nearby location. When you are ready to leave it goes the reverse. Not a hitch in the game for the Lucky Owl crew. I wish them good luck and almost scared to blow out this hidden gem to the Yelp world! Thank you Lucky Owl!

    Read More ►

  • 2/8/2014

    yelpface

    yelpstars

     

     

    Great prices, great service.  I will be back to rent from these guys again.  The car was clean, tank filled with gas, &  excellent price.  If you are looking for a decent reliable vehicle & don’t want to pay full price these guys are the way to go.  From now on I will use Max & D to get my car from.  Lucky Owl is the best value to be found.

    Read More ►

  • 2/3/2014

    Barbara C.
     
     
     
    Researched other options for our one month rental and was clearly the most economical with all as promised.  Particularly appreciated the airport pick-up and drop-off (smooth, efficient and quick).  Our Corolla worked perfectly and got excellent mileage. Max and staff were professional and provide a great service.  We will be using again upon our return. Pleased from Bellingham!
     
  • 11/20/2013

    yelpface1

        yelpstars    

     

    Very unique place with great people. They did everything exactly as promised. Price was great value, never expected to find something so affordable in Oahu. The car ran without a problem. Hands down the best rental company I’ve ever dealt with. I wish they were in every city! But maybe that would ruin it?

    Read More ►

  • 1/23/2014

    yelpface2

    yelpstars

     

     

    Awesome guy!!!  He’s the best ever.  Come and get serviced!  You won’t regret it =)

    Read More ►

  • 1/7/2014

    nick-n

    yelpstars

     

     

    These guys are really great. I called them just before I left for Oahu and had no problem setting it up on such short notice. Service is great, they’ll even pick you up from the airport. The car I rented ran perfectly. I would definitely recommend them.

    Read More ►

  • 12/22/2013

    christina-yelp

    yelpstars-4

     

     

    I was happy with the price. The vehicle was not the best looking inside and outside. If you have skin allergies you might not like it. Altho u can have same reaction to other big name rentals. I would say they didn’t give me any problems. It can be difficult to get a hold of them at times. Overall, I would use them again because you just can’t beat their price!

    Read More ►